NDC Presidential and Parliamentary Elections 2023: Winners and Losers Updates

After days of uncertainty and tense moments, delegates of the main opposition political party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have begun voting today, May 13th, 2023 to elect a flag bearer and parliamentary candidates for the 2024 general election.

In this article, we will be giving you updates of the election on who has won and who has lost. Who retained his seat and who lost.

NDC 2023 Presidential election results update

In the presidential primaries, former president John Dramani Mahama pulled 1,201 votes.

Kojo Bonsu had 24 votes.

Kwabena Duffuor who pulled out of the race Friday evening, had 9 votes.

Three votes of the total valid votes cast were rejected.

NDC 2023 Parliamentelection results update

1. Ningo Prampram Constituency

Member of Parliament for Ningo-Prampram, Sam George, has been re-elected as the Parliamentary Candidate for the constituency.

He once again beat his fierce contender, Michael Kwettey Nettey with 1036 votes in the hotly contested parliamentary primary.

Mr Kwettey managed 626 of the total votes cast.

The election was fraught with allegations of rigging from the camp of the Mr Kwettey forcing the polls to be briefly halted by the Police.

2. Bawku Central

The incumbent Member of Parliament for Bawku Central, Mahama Ayariga, has also been re-elected to lead the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) ahead of election 2024.

The former Information Minister polled 863 votes in the just-ended NDC primaries.

This means Mr. Ayariga will lead the party for the fourth time in the 2024 general elections.

His contenders Ustarz Jibreal Sahad polled 283 while Theo Braimah Awanzam managed 96 votes.

3. Bolgatanga East Constituency

In the Bolgatanga East Constituency incumbent, Dr. Dominic Akurintinga Ayine polled 292 votes while his closest contender Dr. Emmanuel Aberiinga polled 121 votes.

4. Sekondi Constituency

In the Sekondi constituency, Nyamekye Armah Blay won the parliamentary contest with 502 votes while Samuel Bissah had 307 votes with Four votes being rejected.

5. Sekyere Afram Plains Constituency

In the Sekyere Afram Plains constituency, Kwabena Duffuor Junior polled 203 votes but lost out to Hajia Nasira Afrah who polled 211 votes.
The incumbent member of Parliament, Alex Adomako Mensah was third with 86 votes, while political science lecturer at KNUST, Prof. Edward Brenya secured 65 votes.

6. Keta

Dzudzorli Gakpe has also retained his position as NDC parliamentary candidate for the Keta Constituency.

7. Pru East Constituency

Former Power Minister, Dr Kwabena Donkor has lost his bid to lead the Pru East constituency. Dr Donkor polled 371 votes.  His contender Lord Kwaku Boam got 474 votes while Bright Fiawornu managed 66 votes.

8. Sagnarigu Constituency

Alhaji A. B.A. Fuseini, the incumbent Member of Parliament for Sagnarigu Constituency has lost his bid to represent the area as Parliamentary Candidate on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the 2024 elections.
This was after he pilled 333 votes as against
the winner, Mr Atta Issah’s 801 votes during
Saturday’s Parliamentary Primaries of the NDC in the constituency.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.