Parliament Approves Of Two Supreme Court Nominees

The Appointment Committee of Parliament has recommended to Parliament by consensus to approve two out of the four Supreme Court nominees for appointment as justices to the Supreme Court, Ghana’s apex court.

The report of the Appointments Committee, presented Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu and Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu to be approved.

The duo, Barbara and Samuel were nominated by President Nana Akufo-Addo, with Justice George Kingsley Koomson from the Court of Appeal, and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu, a High Court judge, for confirmation by Parliament.

In his announcement on July 26, 2022, Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, read a communication from the presidency and said President Akufo-Addo explained the appointment was as a result of pending and projected vacancies at the Supreme Court this year.

He added the President’s letter indicated the Judicial Council advised him (President) on July 4, 2022 via a letter under the hand of its Chairperson, Chief Justice Annin Yeboah, of the suitability of his nominations for appointment to the court for the named persons in accordance with Article 144 Clause 2 of the Constitution of the Republic.

He quoted Nana Addo for writing, “Upon receipt of the Judicial Council’s advice and in accordance with my duty under Article 144 Clause 2, I consulted the Council of State by submitting the names and curriculum vitae of the nominees for appointment to the court.

“The Council of State has, by a letter dated July 25, 2022, notified me of the successful completion of the consultation process.

“I am therefore, in accordance with Article 144 Clause 2, seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as justices of the Supreme Court.

“Their CVs are hereby attached. I am fully satisfied that each of these persons is duly qualified and eminently fit to discharge the functions of a justice of the Supreme Court.”

Hon Bagbin indicated the President had asked the House to expeditiously proceed with the approval of the nominees to enable them assume office in due time.

The Speaker referred the justices in waiting to the Appointments Committee for consideration and report to the House accordingly.

Subjectingall the justices to public hearing, the Appointments Committee’s report, which was laid in the House yesterday, was silent on Justice George Kingsley Koomson and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu.

Comments are closed.